Wednesday, March 14, 2012

And the nominees are...

by Tina James, Education Programs Coordinator at the Patel Conservatory
An atmosphere that can only be described as electric has taken over the Straz Center. The Florida State Thespians are here! So many bright, talented actors have been in the building this week for the Florida State Thespian Conference preparing to shine and we can’t wait to see what they bring to the stage!
For the third year in a row, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts will be awarding one male actor and one female actress with a Broadway Star of the Future Award in recognition of their outstanding performance in a musical theater production.
The selection process began last fall at district competitions. Schools with one-act mainstage productions were adjudicated, and the top eight students based on these results were chosen as nominees for the awards.

These finalists are judged based on DVD submissions of their performances and the top-scoring actor and actress will be named the winners.

The nominees are:
  • Chandler Morehead, American Heritage High School
  • Katie Michaels, Countryside High School
  • Lexi Carter, A. W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts
  • Samantha Schneider-Behen, Howard W. Blake School of the Arts
  • Jacob Waldron, West Orange High School
  • Jordon Rodnizki, Countryside High School
  • Joshua Grosso, American Heritage High School
  • Marc Wakim, Gulf Breeze High School
Winners will be announced during the closing ceremony of the Florida State Thespian Conference this Sat., March 17, 2012.

The winners will have the opportunity to represent the state of Florida and the Straz Center for the Performing Arts at The National High School Musical Theater Awards this summer (June 20-26, 2012) in New York City. 
Stay tuned to find out the winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment